Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Beto ( )
Date: November 09, 2017 01:09AM

My family, who was Catholic, joined the Mormon Church more than 50 years ago. I was a high-school student at the time and not a very religious person. A neighbor invited my sister to church and she attended services and other events, and she got converted through this type of socialization rather than any deep religious experience. My family was Latino and a bit dysfunctional, and I think my sister, who was younger than me, was looking for some type of stability. She met the man she would marry at church.

Soon the missionaries came knocking. And knocking. It seemed like they were at our door every day. Eventually they won over my dad and then my mom. I think my father, who was an uneducated man born in Mexico, enjoyed having the "priesthood" and exercising whatever authority that was supposed to convey. I think it made him feeling important and useful. He remained faithful to the church until he died in 1979. I was the oldest son and held out for a while, and I didn't feel pressured by my family to convert. But I had this crazy notion that I would get baptized and once the missionaries left me alone I would never go to church again. But it didn't work out that way.