Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: slayermegatron ( )
Date: May 04, 2017 05:48AM

I like to look at my exit from the church as having taken place in stages.

My first doubts emerged in seminary, that oh so wonderful place I had to get up at 5AM to drive 15 miles to every morning. I will never forget the day we learned about the discovery made by early church members of a white lamanite that Joseph Smith said had the name of Zilf or something like that. My immediate thought was that it sounded like a name made up on the spot, but he was a prophet and I was a high school student.

The next big event occurred on my mission. It was a p day, and we all went to an LDS bookstore ( Seagull or Deseret can't remember). I picked up a book with pictures of the papyrus used for the Book of Abraham. I had never heard of them being found, and said to my companion, "why don't they just translate it now that they have it and show the world it is true?". He explained that someone did, and it was not the Book If Abraham. That was a shock. It took me a couple transfers to put it in the back of my mind, but I continued. I loved my mission, best time of my life.