Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: freedom4all ( )
Date: March 09, 2011 12:16PM

In the church, I have found that every member is a trusted confidant, so to speak, of the "sacred & special truths" the church body has chosen to believe. This special & unique belief system is not for the outside lay person. Because of this, I have found that "ego" in various forms is running rampant within the church, where specialness and exclusivity is the norm instead of inclusion, acceptance of all, and a more Christlike feeling one would think a good church going by the name of Jesus should aspire to. Where there is ego, there is great fear. I wonder why the church fears so much when the Lord is supposedly on their side???

My exit story is a little different. I was a 30+ year Mormon veteran, a returned missionary, eagle scout, son of a 3 time Bishop, BYU graduate, and descendant of a long line of stalwart immigrant farmers going back to the mid & late 1800's in Utah. It just so happened both of my parents died young (early 60s), so I had the opportunity to get out of the Morg & into a life I knew was much brighter, happier, & more sincere. I knew how the church would look upon me and my family as we started to instinctively scoot away from their "bad energy", subconscious control, cruel behind your back slander, judgment, and overall negative and "make your life hell" attitude that can sometimes accompany a former "died in the wool" overachievers exit (or most anyone for that matter).