Exmormon Bios  : RfM
Exmormon's exit stories about how and why they left the church. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: writingmystory ( )
Date: November 20, 2013 09:42PM

Travelers, like writers, believe in the power of setting. Before my trip to Europe, my setting had always been conservative, small town Idaho. I absolutely had to leave that environment and the people insulating me in order to gain perspective of the world and myself. Maybe most importantly, without this journey, I don’t think I ever would have revealed or dealt with my abuse. With the help and support of Jeanne and Bert, I found a voice in Europe.
My journey didn’t end when I returned home. As I stated at the end of the epilogue, it was a beginning. In the next two years I went to counseling, I told my family about my abuse and let them support me, I graduated from Boise State University and became a teacher.
My counselor’s name was Dawna. She ultimately proved to be tougher than me which was what drove me to keep appointments. I made a lot of progress in Europe, but Dawna helped me translate that into the everyday practice of living.
Steph divorced Ray just as she said she would. She also received her temple divorce and Ray was excommunicated from the Mormon Church. Well, sort of. Approximately a year after Ray was exed, Steph called to ask me if the Stake President (the guy higher than a Bishop) called me. I told her no. Steph was upset because this Stake President told her they were letting Ray back into the church because the church leaders had called all the people Ray hurt, myself included. Ray's victims had all forgiven him. This blatant lie upset Steph, but when she told me about it, I felt nothing. It was then I realized this organization no longer had a hold on me.