Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Hold Your Tapirs ( )
Date: July 03, 2013 11:13AM

Steve,

I want to first say thank you for the significant contribution you make to this board. I am a newbie as I've been on this site for about 12 months. On numerous occasions, you have provided excellent research/feedback to threads that I have started (many posted as anon) and questions that I have asked. So, thank you. It is greatly appreciated.

I've been following the threads discussing MLK blvd in SLC. Other posters, IMO, seem to have presented some valid points that go against your position regarding utah's level of historical racism. And I don't even care who is right and who is wrong. There are valid points on both sides. But man, you are really digging your heels in on this in your dismissal of any competing viewpoints. And If I remember correctly, I have observed this level of commitment to your position on previous occasions.

I bring this up (as carefully as possible) as we are all recovering, to some degree, from an organization that required "exactness in all things." the dogma from tssc squelches any opposing viewpoint. No questions asked. We are all likely here because we challenged this notion and allowed ourselves to think critically and to at least consider the merits of an opposing viewpoint. So, I guess the irony in all of this is that you seem to occasionally exhibit the same level of dogma that tscc is guilty of, with seemingly no consideration of opposing, valid points of view.

I hope this comes off the right way. Certainly, no disrespect is intended. I just want to get a better feel for where you may be coming from. I want to continue feeling comfortAble with the insight that you provide, realizing that you were very objective in the methodology that you used to arrive at your conclusions. I realize that I may be flamed for this.