Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: sparty ( )
Date: April 08, 2013 05:01PM

I'm an admissions officer for a state university - I was appalled when I heard young people were being told from the pulpit at GC that they could receive 2 year admission deferments...maybe this is true in Utard but not the Midwest. After making it the whole weekend without hearing any audio of conference, my peace was lost this morning when I checked my messages at work.

The first thing I heard after a pleasant weekends was Relief Society voice. A woman was calling because one of her church leaders had told her that her son could receive a 2 year deferment to serve a mission. I called her back and let her know that this is not the case at out university - admission can only be deferred for a semester, otherwise the student will just be encouraged to reapply when they are ready to begin school. She was outraged that I would accuse her leader of lying! Not at all, it's just not how it works at a lot of state schools. She actually told me that she knew what her leader said is true...in the most polite way I could think of, I had to explain that my stack of applications for students wanting to start school each semester takes over a month to get through and that her leader had given her less than accurate research. In her defense, she apologized for the misunderstanding and thanked me...I told my director about it just to be safe...he seemed less than pleased that this advice would be offered at an international broadcast and said he might write to LSD Inc to inform them of their error. God I hope he does...

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 04/08/2013 05:02PM by sparty.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Raptor Jesus ( )
Date: April 08, 2013 05:10PM

Date: April 08, 2013 05:19PM