Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: likeaboss8821 ( )
Date: March 31, 2013 09:11AM

Hi. This is my first post to this forum. I have enjoyed reading some of the posts. It sickens me that LDS put such negative fallacies on exmormons. You guys are educated, honest, and looking to help people. Your awesome! Your advice would be much appreciated! I would not be surprised if some of you have been in my situation. I am currently a student at BYU-I. I came to the university as a TBM(served a mission, served in ward leadership, married in the temple, etc..) I honestly believed it.

Long story short, my perspective started changing, and I noticed certain inconsistencies that confused me("prophets" contradicting each other, the way the church represents things verse the truth, just to name a few).

I decided to fight off my desire for it to be true, or in other words, my bias(which bias is a prereq to gain faith in Mormonism(Alma 32 along with many other references), but i digress, as this forum will be a place that is familiar with such issues). So I decided to enter into an open minded study of Mormonism.

It was amazing how fast my testimony disappeared. Everything I was taught about LDS history, and other things, were half truths(nice way of putting it, as I felt lied too). Mormon apologists don't deny many of these issues. They just dont talk about them unless specifically questioned about it. They have their responses, but they are so clearly bias. I was talking to one individual about the Book of Abraham issue. He listed out all the possibilities of that situation, and I quote his response, "Personally, I chose the one that leaves Joseph Smith with the most credibility." This type of perspective is something I can never have, nor do I think is healthy. It certainly isn't how truth is found.