Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: psychobabble ( )
Date: March 10, 2013 06:59AM

It seems like a large portion of people on this site left mormonism because they found out damning things about church history. Others have left because of scientific reasons. Has anyone else left for psychological reasons?

After I graduated from college I developed severe depression. I was still very active in the church at the time. One of the tools I've learned to deal with depression is called cognitive behavioral therapy. This is basically where you become aware of the irrational, negative thoughts you have that are leading to your depression/anxiety, etc. You then try to replace those thoughts with more rational ones.

As I went through this process I was surprised to find that a lot of my negative thinking was wrapped up in my religious beliefs. Other TBM's would explain this away by saying ... it's not the church, it's how you are reacting to the church. But over time, no matter how much I tried to make church work for me, I would always fall back into the same negative thinking patterns regarding my personal worth, my outlook on life, etc. It became easier with time to see the church as something that had been psychologically damaging to me.

When I discovered the church history stuff, that was the nail in the coffin ... but I had been drifting away for a long time before that. Just wondering if anyone else had similar experiences.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: slskipper ( )
Date: March 10, 2013 07:25AM

I think most of us are in the same boat you are. Biblebeltbetsy is compiling a treatise on depression among Mormons. I am sure she would love to hear from you.

Posted by: justcallmestupid ( )
Date: March 10, 2013 07:57AM