Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: kstats ( )
Date: February 05, 2013 04:25PM

When I was in high school, there was a Mormon boy who was determined to make me his girlfriend. For two years he pursued me (this included romantic dates, etc.). I was so sure that I didn't want to enter college with a boyfriend dragging behind me, especially not one still in high school, but he wouldn't give up. It wasn't until a couple months before I graduated that he was able to get me to agree to dating him. To this day I'm still not sure how he did it. He loved me and deep down I knew that I wanted to be with him.

We dated throughout the summer (I've never had a more perfect summer), but when I left for college everything changed. One day he woke up and realized that things would never work between us. He wants to go to BYU and on a mission and I, being of the Christian faith, wasn't willing to wait for him. He broke up with me out of the blue. It's been about 5 months since then, but since we broke up because of our religious differences, we still care tremendously for each other. Many times we have tried to learn about each others' religion in hopes that one of us would "see the light" and convert so that we could be together. I'm afraid that he would never leave the Mormon faith unless Jesus came down himself and said, "You're wrong." What are the odds of that happening...? We love each other, there is no doubt about that, and it hurts that only one thing is able to keep us apart.