Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Naomi ( )
Date: January 25, 2013 10:26AM

As a woman in the military, I was always fighting the stereotypes. I saw the combat exclusion rule as institutionalized sexism. At one point, as a reservist engineer, I was offered a promotion. I accepted, but then was told that it was a mistake, because the company offering the promotion was a combat engineer company. I had to wait for a non-combat opening before I could be promoted.

I have also been in combat in Afghanistan, and performed as well or better than the men. I just wasn't allowed in a combat specialty.

Now the ban has finally been lifted. It almost makes me want to get back in the military.

http://www.nytimes.com/2013/01/25/us/politics/formally-lifting-a-combat-ban-military-chiefs-stress-equal-opportunity.html?_r=0

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Exmod ( )
Date: January 25, 2013 11:00AM

I read your post from the other thread. Very very impressive and thank you for your service. I have a son in the USMC. He is in the infantry in a Weapons Co. He has been in heavy combat situations. I asked his opinion yesterday about it.

I don't think the problem is sexism, but rather sex. You get these young 20 year old guys out there, w/o females for days on end. Don't you think "focus" or rather "lack of focus." If you have an attractive athletic private in the same fox hole, and 2 or 3 guys who are attracted to her - don't you think their minds would wander? Competetion? Jealosy? What about milatary wives? I heard a "major" on the radio today talking about how Europe is so much more progressive than the US. I don't wonder if it's the US though, that is more progressive and in tune (well, that is before the ban was lifted).

Date: January 25, 2013 11:42AM