Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Sperco ( )
Date: June 07, 2012 02:22PM

I tried to post this to eekel's thread but it's closed.

Speaking of tiresome.......

This is one of the most tiresome statements:

"My problem is I'm looking for people who have tried looking at the issue from both sides"

Let's see here.... I got to hear the mormon side for 30 years. I studied the other side for a little less than a year and I was totally out.

So Let's compare 30 years to less than a year.

Now what was that about trying to find people who can look at both sides?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: The Oncoming Storm - bc ( )
Date: June 07, 2012 02:26PM

The problem is the purpose of this site isn't to look at the issue from both sides. There are plenty of us here who have done that extensively - for years and years.

The reason we are here is typically because we have already done that and are finished with that phase. We've made our decisions and conclusions. There are more appropriate places like MormonThink to look at the issue from both sides.

We are here to work through the anger, isolation, etc. To come here to passively-aggressively accuse people for doing exactly what the purpose of the site is is ridiculous.

We've already made our decision after looking at both sides. We are now dealing with the fallout of what we discovered.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 06/07/2012 02:34PM by bc.

Posted by: Sperco ( )
Date: June 07, 2012 02:33PM

I absolutely agree.

When I was studying my way out, I would get variations of eekel's statements from family and friends things like:

Why are you only looking at one side? Why aren't you looking into what the church says about that? You need to be fair and look at both sides

My response was that the church had 30 years to give me their side of things. I think it's time now to examine the other side.