Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Pissed!!! ( )
Date: December 09, 2010 05:07PM

Okay everyone I just got home about an hour ago and I am still in shock. I went in tonight, well prepared with all the material I'd gathered after some extensive research in to all the websites you all suggested. I can't thank you enough for it, by the way.

What I forgot to mention in my first post is that the missionaries don't come to my house, I go to the Church. I asked for this because I live with a friend who's an atheist and I wanted to respect her personal, private space by not letting them invade our house. I'm also a PhD student and as a part of it I work long hours at the University so I simply told them that it was easier for me. They agreed.

My big problem is that they are really great guys. They're nice and kind and I genuinely like them. We always goof a bit before the lessons, which made the guilty, sick feeling in my stomach even worse. I felt that I was betraying them with my questions, but there was no way I was going to fold.

Once we started they asked, as they usually do, if I had any questions. I told them I did and pulled out a thick wad of printouts, some of which contained my notes, others were original articles from the Ensign and the like and the rest were files I'd printed out on Joseph Smith, Brigham Young and Heber Chase Kimball from the familysearch.org.

They enthusiastically invited my questions.