Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Yewt102 ( )
Date: December 08, 2010 12:11PM

Reading another post on here reminded me of a funny experience i had in seminary. I'm a college student so this happened just a few years ago.

I was a good student in high school who wasn't really forced to go to seminary, but I enjoyed the time off. I enjoyed immersing myself and "observing" the culture which I saw through.

I pretty much had the system down to where I didn't have to do anything I didn't want to do. Whenever the teacher would assign me to do something I would decline, and when they insisted I would do it (such as pick a scripture or teach a lesson) I would do something like pick a scripture in the old testament about solomon's sisters breasts and how they were "like towers" or whatnot. Needless to say, they were usually pretty quick about learning to not ask me to do anything anymore. I was always respectful but I was definately against the grain.

I had one seminary teacher who was more "bubbly" than others. His personality clashed with mine quite a bit and I got in a period where I would end up just falling asleep in his class. To counter this he put me in the front of the class... I fell asleep anyways. It wasn't out of disrespect or anything (I would just get really bored! and tired!).

So one day i doze off... and then next thing I know I'm getting whacked with a moderate amount of force several times with a meter stick by this annoying man yelling "WAKE UP YEWT102 WAKE UP!" And without thinking my natural reaction was yelling "give me that f***** stick!"

I jumped out of my desk, knocking it over, and wrestled the stick out of his hands and started hitting him back.