Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: jolene ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 10:45AM

How did Joseph Smith not make this list??

http://www.cracked.com/article_18885_5-people-who-started-religions-just-to-get-laid.html

Maybe he didn't start the Mormon church to get laid, but why did he start it then? I am pretty new in my studies of actual, real Mormon history, but it seems to me that it started as one of Joseph's lies that just got out of control. What do you think his real intentions were?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: vhainya ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 11:24AM

I don't think he started it to get laid. I think he started it for money and power. The marriages came after as a solution to justify his affairs.

Posted by: Heresy ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 12:15PM

using his seer stone, and charging his neighbors for the privilege.

Religion was just one more con job. He wasn't much on farm work and he didn't have the discipline to sit through classes to go to school.

I think he became a sex addict like Tiger Woods when the opportunities starting presenting themselves.

But looking at that article, I don't know why he isn't there. They included others like him.

Posted by: DNA ( )
Date: December 07, 2010 12:22PM

I agree, he was just looking for a way to make money that didn't involve physical labor and was easier.

I think he was going to write a book and sell it, and accidentally became a prophet when he found out, "Holy shit, people are believing me!" And then he just rolled with it; and like a Ponzi scheme, it started out small and just kept getting bigger until he was in too deep to stop.

Women dig money and power. I don't think he started out trying to get chicks, but when the money and power came he figured out soon enough that chicks dig it.

At that point his whole life was all about what he could get, with what he had to offer.