Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: lulu ( )
Date: February 16, 2012 02:54PM

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: SpongeBob SquareGarments ( )
Date: February 16, 2012 03:03PM

Zina Huntington Jacobs is the only one I know about but I'm no expert on this.

Posted by: Jim Huston ( )
Date: February 16, 2012 03:31PM

Brigham Young did not play well with others. The women that he married were generally required to leave their husbands permanently. In addition to the one already mentioned, Mary Elizabeth Rollins was married to Brigham Young for a period of time, but did not live with him as wife.

Augusta Cobb was married to him, but had left her non-Mormon husband to move west.

These are the only ones I am aware of.

Posted by: kimball ( )
Date: February 16, 2012 03:43PM

I don't think Brigham made a habit of taking other men's wives unless they were leftover from Joseph. I'm pretty sure, though, that Parley P. Pratt converted a married woman and took her back to Utah and married her. He later went back and got her kids, and was hunted down and killed by the angry husband/father. When Brigham Young heard about his "martyrdom" he was the most distraught he'd ever been, except for when Joseph died.

Posted by: snowowl ( )
Date: February 18, 2012 01:58AM

Here are the known polyandrous marrianges. There are a few others about which it is unknown if the woman was divorced from her previous husband.
The marriage dates are to Brigham Young.
I hope these are accurate.

Lucy Ann Decker - Marriage: June 14, 1842 -- abandoned by non-Mormon husband William Seeley - not divorced

Augusta Adams - Marriage: November 2, 1843 -- married to non-mormon Henry Cobb, not divorced until 1847

Clarissa Blake (Morse) - Marriage: October 8, 1844 - widow of ? Morse - married to Lyman Homiston, not divorced