Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: BGDNE ( )
Date: November 06, 2010 11:20AM

Happy weekend to all!

I have been trolling the NOM and this board for a few years.

I stopped believing the church was run by God a while ago. No new revelation, more control exerted, etc. is what gave the first crack. Not to mention all the EVIDENCE against it....

However, I am married and this development in seeing this truth has happened during my marriage.

I still go to church and even have a calling. But, I hate paying tithing when that dumb mall is being built...

I cannot (and probably will not) ever seperate from the church. I do not see all bad things, but I like that I still maintain my freedom. But going to church and living the TBM lifestyle while knowing this is mostly false is a little funny. I just hate spending three hours in church and eventually paying tithing (I will start paying online soon).

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: msmom ( )
Date: November 06, 2010 12:07PM

It makes a huge difference.

What would happen if you shared your concerns with your wife?

Posted by: anon ( )
Date: November 06, 2010 12:13PM

Knowing something is mostly false is not a little funny....it is a whole lot SAD. And you will stay WHY? That simply makes no sense. Your spouse loves the church more than you? Sounds like a false life you're living. Glad you can come here for some sanity, but faking it for others who don't deserve it makes you less than honest.

Posted by: amos ( )
Date: November 06, 2010 12:26PM

I tried to hang on as a sunday school teacher and home teacher for a few months, but I couldn't stand it. I blush when I lie and just can't fake it. I finally wrote the bishop a note and resigned my callings (not the church, yet).

It's a dilemma.

You're supporting a fraud, but then so what?