Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: oz ( )
Date: November 16, 2017 01:31PM

Someone I know has started going to the LDS church and sometimes temple for a few months now. I've no personal experience of mormonism but am just concerned about what he's getting into from what I've heard about it.

I'm sure they are very friendly and well meaning (and persuasive) so I don't want to criticise his new friends. But do you have any advice of what to say to him, perhaps to help him question / critically evaluate what he'll be hearing? He is a teenager.

Thanks for your help.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: unbelievable2 ( )
Date: November 16, 2017 01:34PM

Come here to get the truth.

Posted by: ificouldhietokolob ( )
Date: November 16, 2017 01:38PM

If he's a teenager, he's very likely *not* going to the temple, other than maybe doing "baptisms for the dead." So he isn't experiencing the really wacky nuttiness of the temple. And you have to be a full-fledged member to go do baptisms for the dead.

He's probably getting heavily "love-bombed" by his newest bestest mormony friends. This is very likely all about social interaction, not actual belief/doctrine. So I doubt bringing up doctrinal issues will make any kind of dent in his newfound social group.

It might be worth talking about what he'd have to give up to be an actual mormon...doing anything on Sunday, coffee, etc. And mentioning how "fickle" his new mormon friends are likely to be -- how they'll stop loving him so much if he finds he doesn't believe mormonism.

Otherwise, he's going to have to figure things out on his own.
Good luck.

Posted by: Chicken N. Backpacks ( )
Date: November 16, 2017 09:10PM

iichtk wrote: "If he's a teenager, he's very likely *not* going to the temple, other than maybe doing "baptisms for the dead." So he isn't experiencing the really wacky nuttiness of the temple."