Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Tom Padley ( )
Date: October 14, 2017 02:39PM

I was born into the church but my family wasn't active. When I was ordained a deacon I went regularly like all of my friends. Then went to the temple two days before I got married. That was a real shock to me, but I went along with it because everyone around me was doing the rituals. My new wife and I found an apartment in the ward I grew up in so we went to church and the temple with people I had known all my life. I studied hard to catch up with those raised in active homes. I read the BoM but had a hard time with many things. But I went along to get along. Had a hard time with the older dudes who were condescending & patronizing because I came from an inactive family. Had an even harder time with life in general because of a lifelong anxiety disorder (which I didn't know about until about three years ago - I thought I was just psycho rather than having brain chemistry problems - maybe it's the same thing, who knows). I internalized all my stress which caused depression for many years. Four or five years ago I started getting 'real' answers from the internet and reading unauthorized books that told the truth about JS and the history of the church. I resigned when I was 64. Now I'm kicking myself every day for believing for so long. Other people on this board caught on quickly to the fraud, but I didn't. This issue is very stressful. How can I get over constantly putting myself down?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Kathleen ( )
Date: October 14, 2017 02:46PM

I was a slow learner, too.

Posted by: Bruce A Holt ( )
Date: October 15, 2017 01:19PM

Me, three.

Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: October 14, 2017 02:47PM