Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: summer ( )
Date: May 13, 2017 11:14AM

You would think as a 20+ year veteran teacher, I would have an answer to this question. I don't.

It was not a part of my world growing up. Maybe it was there, but I wasn't aware of it. Kids were nice to each other. I easily could have been bullied in high school due to several factors, but was not. I remember the kids in my small high school as being a genuinely kind bunch. If they weren't interested in you, they steered clear of you. But they didn't tease or harass you. And they would at least greet you as they passed you in the hallway. It was a friendly atmosphere.

But as a teacher, I have viewed bullying at close range. I currently have a horribly-behaved little bully in my classroom. He breaks other kids pencils, rips up their papers, and steals things from them. I know he doesn't have much at home, but still. He also steals and destroys my things. I have seen teaching materials that I've collected over the course of my career completely obliterated. I've seen supplies that are expensive to replace being treated as toys. He seems to take joy in hurting other people. His parents seem unable to control him. I have other children who are also destructive, but with him, it gets personal.

The teachers in my building are starting to have conversations about sociopathy among our students. We know that sociopaths exist. Are they among our student body? The numbers would suggest that they are.

We've all seen bullying among adults as well. We've had numerous reports of bullying on this board -- sometimes from spouses or other family members, sometimes from church leadership or other ward members.