Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: sciven ( )
Date: March 22, 2017 05:50PM

I'm an attorney with 25 years experience in an area of the country where there are more LDS attorneys than non LDS attorneys.

Being an attorney is difficult in the sense that it usually requires the adoption of a distrustful outlook on life.

If you are a "turn the other cheek" type of person, becoming an attorney will be a difficult transition.

Having said that, I find that most attorneys I work with or against work hard and are conscientious.

My personal observation and possibly overstated "gripe" about LDS attorneys is that they position themselves as being above reproach. Bishops, Stake President's etc. aren't mean or aggressive...to your face.

They want everyone to think that they are Christlike but behind the scenes they are often the most aggressive, the least honest, and the least personable attorneys in the room.

They have very little time or patience for social networking.

Any marketing effort from an LDS attorney is obvious for it's insincerity.

Users of overly sharp angles and convenient "forgetters" of conversations and deals.

In my opinion most non LDS attorneys, don't hide who they are or pretend to be something they aren't. They tend to be aggressive in the Courtroom, professional during the fight, straight in their dealmaking, yet sincere and even kind when the fight is over.

Just my 2 pennies.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: fell out ( )
Date: March 22, 2017 05:56PM

opinion on Kirton & McConkie lawyers - any thoughts.

Nice suits, nice cars,nice digs and arrogant to the max

they charge a lot... holy cow do they!!

Posted by: scriven ( )
Date: March 22, 2017 06:10PM

What I mean by that is that as a profession successful lawyers tend to get big-headed and forget that in the grand scheme, most of what they do is soon forgotten.

Add to that: