Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: brianberkeley ( )
Date: February 07, 2017 09:07PM

I was a struggling student in the 1960s at the University of California, Berkeley. The smell of tear gas, brings back the memories. But at the time of my near graduation I was at high risk to be drafted and end up cannon fodder in the cesspool called Viet Nam.

At this time Ezra Taft Benson was on a rant about the dangers of communism, and his support of the John Birch society. Shades of Joseph McCarthy. ETB was a part-time friend and snitch for J. Edgar Hoover. Later, according to the Salt Lake Tribune( 11/16/2010) Hoover was spying on ETB for his rabid support of the John Birch society. Cleon Skousen, was also in the mix.

I had mentally checked out of the church when I was 12 years old when I realized that the Golden Plates story was simply ridiculous. But the support of ETB for the Viet Nam war taught me two things; 1. ETB was a bigot and a fool and 2. Discernment?
What discernment. America was not only defeated, but defeated ignominiously. So much for insight and discernment. Between this and the Mark Hoffman affair, I marched myself out of the church forever.

So, in retrospect, Thank you ETB, wherever you are or aren't. Ultimately your arrogance, stupidity, and mendacity led me out of the church.

Comments

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: steve benson ( )
Date: February 07, 2017 09:14PM

Oh, and this about ETB also helped me confirm my decision to bolt the Cult:

"Efforts by LDS Church Apologists to Defend Ezra Taft Benson--Mormonism's Prophet, Seer and Race-baiter, 3 Parts (updated)":

Part 1: http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,247447,247447#msg-247447

Part 2: http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,247448,247448#msg-247448

Part 3: http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,247452

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 02/07/2017 09:29PM by steve benson.