Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Stacia ( )
Date: January 11, 2017 01:28AM

Are there any people on here who are currently studying, or have at one time studied, at BYU Provo or Hawaii? I am curious how many people have managed to fake their beliefs in order to get cheap tuition... I've been wondering, because I know I cannot be the only one...

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: csuprovograd ( )
Date: January 11, 2017 10:57AM

I went to Provo's happy little 4 year high school extension in the 70's...attracted by financial consideration, plus a sweet spirit I dated during the summer talked me into applying.

I went as a non-believer who was willing to study my way into believing. I spent a lot of extra-curricular time in the library. All that study served to cement my lack of belief.

I graduated as a non-elder...

Posted by: BYU Atheist ( )
Date: January 11, 2017 05:41PM

Am currently at BYU Provo. I can't possibly recommend it for any except the very most ardent Mormons.

Posted by: canary21 ( )
Date: January 12, 2017 02:36PM

How much longer do you have until you graduate?

Date: January 13, 2017 02:22AM

Around a year or so. I was figured this was a cheap option for an undergraduate degree. It is not too terrible, but I had never expected it to be so...cult-like. I've known for years that the church is a cult, but this school has brought it to a whole new level.

Posted by: Pariah ( )
Date: January 11, 2017 06:04PM