Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: sisteroutsider ( )
Date: October 25, 2016 12:22PM

I've been in recovery for years. I resigned on 4th of July about 5 years ago, but had started my recovery earlier (much with the help and validation from this board).

I work in the mental health field as a therapist and am usually live a pretty happy life, overall. I am a bit of an introvert and have a small circle of people that I trust.

Over the past few months, I've noticed something about my relationship with my mother, who is TBM. Perhaps the reason why it has bothered me so much is because I've come to the point where there isn't really a reason to hope anymore.

My mother lives about 5 hours away from me. She always sends birthday cards, sends cards to the kids, etc. She always sends 2 cases of beans or whatever food storage also. I accept the food storage because I like to cook whole foods, etc. So I just put it into rotation and use it. My pantry is getting very full though. She visits every few months, but we never connect. It is very lonely when she comes. She usually goes to Costco and buys about $500 worth of groceries/junk food. Or she'll try to cook for us (and buy all the groceries). And she also buys fast food (way more than anyone can eat).