Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: goat ( )
Date: November 24, 2015 12:17PM

Anybody have experience with Utah Valley University? I'm considering pursuing an MBA there but to be honest i'm really nervous about it being based out of Utah County. There isn't really anything wrong with that perse, but I'm afraid of large church influence.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: NormaRae ( )
Date: November 24, 2015 12:27PM

I got my Bachelor's in Legal Studies there. It was a fairly decent program and was ABA approved, which a small minority of them are.

To be honest, most of the tenured professors were lousy. Though there were a couple of excellent ones. The adjuncts, most of them local attorneys, were often quite good.

I guess if I were young and into the college social scene, the mormon influence would be stiffling. It is definately there and probably much more so now that Holland's spawn is in charge.

But I was working full-time and going to school full time and was a single mother. So I went there for class and went home. I did have one teacher that I had to go to the Dean about because he made disparaging remarks about non-mormon students. I was told I wasn't the first one to bring it up and that was the last semester he taught.

There are several excellent professors who are there because BYU was suffocating them. Dr. Laura Hamblin, an English professor, is fabulous. She is a long-time exmo but suprisingly is the sister of mormon apologist and Dan Peterson clone, Bill Hamblin. If you're already in Utah Valley, it's not a bad option. I can't think of any other reason to go there, however.

Edited 1 time(s). Last edit at 11/24/2015 12:28PM by NormaRae.

Posted by: Alpiner ( )
Date: November 24, 2015 03:26PM

I got my MBA at UVU in the original cohort.