Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: should have known ( )
Date: August 29, 2015 12:51AM

As a YBU student I had a close friend and roommate who I shared everything with. Even though she was TBM, she was liberal and open minded for a TBM. Or so I thought. During school she knew I no longer believed in TSCC and held my hand as I went through a deep depression over the repercussions of that and of an abusive ex I was forced to see regularly at school and church. She cheered me up and made me feel worthwhile and beautiful when antidepressants made me gain an insane amount of weight. But a few years ago, after I sent her a wedding invitation, she just stopped talking to me. She still talked to my family on facebook, but refused to acknowledge my existence.

Recently she told my mom why. She didn't tell me, she told my mom. Having a fat, depressed, apostate friend made her feel good about herself. Now that I am fit, professionally successful, and happily married, she can't stand it. She can't understand why God would bless a sinner like me with an awesome husband while she has always been obedient and is now *gasp* over 30 and still single.

Wow. I had no idea. How pathetic for her.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: verilyverily ( )
Date: August 29, 2015 01:01AM

Wow! What a jealous bitch. You are much better off without her. Keep doing what you are doing.... and congrats on your success in life. You sound like a beautiful person no matter what your weight is or you job title. Continue to be a kind and loving person and don't let her get to you.

Posted by: brandywine ( )
Date: August 29, 2015 03:44PM

This^^^

Posted by: madalice ( )
Date: August 29, 2015 01:05AM

I have found that living well is the very best revenge.

Live well (enjoy that fabulous cocktail/vino) and enjoy your life to the fullest. This, more than anything drives TBM's nuts.