Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: laxy ( )
Date: May 15, 2015 12:15AM

Hi all, I'm new to the RfM boards. I've been reading through for a couple of weeks and really find it enlightening here. It's wonderful. I am still a semi-active member, but mostly because my journey out has just begun. Anyway, that's not my topic I wanted to post about.

Basically I wanted to express my growing anger towards my patriarchal blessing, and see if anyone else feels this about all or part of theirs. Or PBs in general I guess.

I used to hold my PB in the highest esteem- a real guideline for my life and something I was (and to be honest still slightly am) afraid to deter from. My experience getting my PB was very "spiritual and special", lots of crying etc etc. And there was an instance involving my mom and my PB that I always thought was too "uncoincidental" for the PB to be a lie. But there are other things in my PB I am finding to be untrue, and definitely things that have instilled a sense of fear in me. 1) The blessing mentions that I will have a lot of negatives in my life. What? This is something that haunts me nearly daily. I feel I can't do anything big or joy-inducing for fear something negative comes in to wipe away all my joy. 2) It goes into very specific detail about getting married in the temple and having a family. I am not marrying in the temple and I also do not plan on having children. In turn, I have this constant fear that my future husband, who I love dearly, is going to die soon and somehow THOSE plans are GOING to manifest themselves.

I guess my point is, I am really starting to resent my PB for instilling these fears and others in me. (Obviously I am growing to resent the church and members themselves, but that's another topic). Anyone else feel this way towards their PB?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: alyssum ( )