Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: ab ( )
Date: February 20, 2015 11:07AM

I have been teaching classes as a volunteer in prison for about 20 years. What a lucky thing for me. The current class is on anger management. Last night a person shared about getting so angry two weeks ago that he was forgetting things and was obsessed by the thoughts. Another man told him that he understood what he was feeling because 30 years ago something happened to him and to this day laying in his bunk at night he still gets worked up into a state of possession by rage.

In the class I was looking at the men during a period of silence and going within. Some of the men were falling asleep, some looked uneasy at being silent, but the majority of the men could sit in peaceful silence. One of the guys shared afterwards that he had been meditating for about a year since coming to the class. He mentioned the positive results such as not being pushed around like he previously was by his thoughts. This is a man that sat in solitude for 5 years on death row. I tell the class that when our attention is imprisoned by thoughts that we are in a prison more confining than the maximum security prison where the class is held. I see students in my college classes stressed, easily angered and not present and I tell the prison class that many of them are freer than the average college student.
(see http://www.wimp.com/refreshmind/ on the power of meditation)