Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: shapeshifter ( )
Date: May 07, 2017 01:58PM

So I am a newbie on this board, just a few days now. I was so happy to find this site, esp. after so many years of being 'in recovery' and in a place where I want to confront my past and get support.

I have found many interesting posts and supportive people here. But I am also finding a lot of posts that are very hateful and intolerant.

I don't know if they are trolls sent from the GAs to try and deal with the 'dissenters' or just ex-mo's who are still heavily influenced by our tradition of hate and intolerance.

Either way it's disturbing and makes me feel like it's not the best place for me to share personal stories. It certainly doesn't contribute to the creation of a safe space that so many of us desperately need.

And it's disturbing because I can see that so many of these attitudes we were programmed with are influencing people in this negative way still that they seem to be oblivious too. And it brings up some of my own PTSD reminding me of the kinds of intolerant divisive attitudes I had to grow up with. There is this kind of black and white view to everything and us verses them attitude. Maybe now the 'us' and 'them' has shifted but it's like it hardly matters that we left if we are just going to behave in the exact same way.

My goal on this forum is to be honest about my feelings, how being raised LDS still affects me and find others struggling with their own recovery so we can support one another. But I am not intending to be disrespectful and hurtful in the process nor to make fun at another's expense or be hateful.