Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Johnny Canuck ( )
Date: November 22, 2015 02:00PM

I was four and a half and remember the fall of 1963 very well as we had gone east shortly before my Uncle Bill died at 28 during a very early open heart surgery in Montreal. We were back home in Edmonton and while I do not remember the news flash, I remember my Mother being very upset, between losing her brother and now this, and my father coming home from work. The TV set was on all weekend and I suspect much of Canada came to a halt during the funeral. I do remember MLK Jr and RFK's passing a lot better.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: elderolddog ( )
Date: November 22, 2015 02:13PM

When I was a freshman in high school, the Hale family of my ward, parents and five kids, were in a head-on collision while on a trip to Utah. The oldest, a girl, was also a freshman. The parents and three of the kids, including my classmate, died. It was my first brush with death, up close and personal. The funeral was HUGE, and very, very somber.

My second brush with 'big' death was President Kennedy; it paled in comparison.

Posted by: verilyverily ( )
Date: November 22, 2015 02:29PM

Yes I remember it. 2nd or 3rd grade. The teacher was called into the hallway, which was very weird because you NEVER leave a class of kids that age (in Utah so a huge class of at least 35) alone. She came back in crying very hard. We could barely understand her when she said "the President has been shot and school is closed; go home." At that time they didn't know that he had died.
Since we were at school when the news came in, none of the kids knew what president she meant so we put the news with some school thing. Some of us thought she meant the pres. of the PTA (I know, weird huh....but nobody though it would be the POTUS).