Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Oh!Adorable! ( )
Date: October 20, 2014 03:49PM

Panic attacks. I have suffered from them since about 14 years old. They've become less frequent over the years mainly because I'm an expert at avoiding places where I know one will spring up. Court rooms and classrooms are the worst (so I steer clear from breaking the law and educate myself at home). I've tried to self-analyze haha. I can go grocery shopping, rock concerts, sporting events, night clubs (even before drinking) and feel just fine. When it's a room full of quiet people that I have to sit by and someone is at the front of the room, this is my huge trigger. I want to bolt. Run out of there screaming. My heart starts pounding. I can only attribute this to one thing. The hours and hours I sat in sacrament meetings as a child. Being asked to give a speech up on that dreaded pulpit and then having my parents or family members tell me how great or horrible I did.Being told to sit still and listen when I couldn't listen! It was so boring and always some hysterical woman crying about "her testimony" and then to feel ashamed that I didn't listen. Shame shame shame. Guilt guilt guilt. This crap has followed me around my whole life but in benign ways without the brainwashing.