Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: PapaKen ( )
Date: September 28, 2014 06:45PM

Why did I go on a mission? I was a freshman at YBU, and some of my ward members convinced me I should go.

Why did I go to YBU? I was a senior in HS and a ward member told me it's "the best university I could go to."

Why did I get married? All my siblings thought it was the best thing I could do.

IOW, I was totally letting other people make life decisions for me. It was a really long time before I put the brakes on and began making my own decisions.

PapaKen

PS, had I not followed this path, I would not have had my two kids (and now 6 little ones who call me "PapaKen"), nor would I have met my best friend. So .... no regrets.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: Lethbridge Reprobate ( )
Date: September 29, 2014 12:33AM

In answer to mrzelph from the previous thread, I pretty much followed your timeline except I made elder at 19, at which time Dad asked if I wanted to go on a mission. I said NO...end of discussion. He knew I would have made a lousy missionary and he loved and respected me.

Ron Burr

Posted by: reuben ( )
Date: September 29, 2014 12:38AM

I wished I had left the church and home at 18 and never looked back. The gift I have given to my kids (which they will never truly appreciate) is that they can grow up without the burden of the cult. I am still saddled with many of the poor life decisions I have made (by conforming to mormonism), but they will be free and happy.

That will be a legacy that only I truly comprehend and appreciate.

Posted by: Strength in the Loins ( )
Date: September 29, 2014 03:55AM

Very well said. I have had the same thoughts. My kids will never appreciate how my decision to leave will change their lives for the better. But I will.

Posted by: yankeedownunder ( )
Date: September 29, 2014 06:37AM