Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: dabners ( )
Date: September 08, 2014 02:38PM

What the heck is wrong with these people? I emailed in my resignation early in the summer. They lost it. I emailed another in August. They've sat on it for a month. I explicitly demanded no contact other than a written confirmation letting me know it had been fully processed.

Today at work (I'm a professor) I get this email from a fellow professor.

Hi Professor [ME],

I am currently serving as the Bishop for the XXX Ward. I recently received your request for name removal and would like to help move that process along. One of the final steps is for us to meet briefly to discuss. I promise, I have no intention of meeting with the intent to dissuade you; I'm new to serving as Bishop and I'm curious about the process and would like to ask you a few questions so I can understand how to better assist with the process in the future.

If you are unwilling to meet, I understand. If you are able to meet, would you have time on Wednesday or Friday of this week? I'm open all day/either day.

Best Regards,

Curtis (Bishop Nicholls)
Curtis M. Nicholls, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Accounting
School of Management

First off, he contacted from his professional email address to my professional email address (which I had not distributed). Total no-no. Secondly, he disregarded my specific instructions not to contact me. Thirdly, he lied, a meeting is not the next step, it isn't required.

I realize I should be happy that they are at least processing my request but the total lack of boundaries continues to shock me. The way he tries to blend the personal with the professional is disturbing. As a bishop I'd like to tell him to take a long walk off a short dock. As a fellow professor, I need to remain more cordial. This is exactly what he is trying to take advantage of, isn't it?