Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Marie ( )
Date: June 15, 2013 01:17PM

Anybody here have any advice for me?

I graduated from BYU in April and I want to know how I should go about things. I already received my diploma in the mail and sent my transcripts to my employer and future graduate school.

But what do I do about my old ward clerk pestering me about transferring my records? He has e-mailed and texted me asking what my new ward is, but I don't want missionaries coming over to my apartment to reactivate me. I live in Boston now and I don't even know what my ward would be called because I don't plan on attending.

Could anything bad or annoying happen to me if I just told the guy to keep my records because I am inactive?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: notnewatthisanymore ( )
Date: June 15, 2013 01:19PM

I'm in the same situation and I just resigned. If your transcripts have already posted and you have your diploma, there's nothing to worry about. Tell him what you want, they can't do anything to you now.

Posted by: nickname ( )
Date: June 15, 2013 01:37PM

It might speed things up if you transfer your records first and then resign. You will almost certainly have to deal with a couple annoying visits from ward and/or stake leaders from your new ward and/or stake, but once they see that your mind is made up, they'll be forced to process your request and that'll most likely be the end of it.

Or you could just send your resignation back to your old ward, and let them figure out how to deal with it. But they'll probably just forward it to your new ward/stake anyway.

Or you could just send your resignation directly to the Morg HQ, but they will just forward it to your new ward/stake.

Whatever you do, make sure you do send a copy of your resignation directly to the Morg HQ, so whatever local leaders can't simply ignore it.