Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Anon for this one... ( )
Date: July 28, 2014 10:42PM

Continuing: http://exmormon.org/phorum/read.php?2,1338032

Beth,

I’m a full Professor of Computer Science, and former department chair, in a PhD granting Computer Science department. I work directly with many students, personally advise a half dozen PhD candidates, review grad school applications, and keep in touch with former students. I’m posting this anonymously because I really have nothing but bad news to convey, and I’m also gonna be a little bit harsh with you.

First of all: CUT THE APRON STRINGS! Do it. Do it now. Why? As a couple other folks posted, your son is an adult. If he wants to get into and succeed in grad school he’s going to have to be self-starting, self-sufficient, self-everything. That’s a given. But let me give you a peek behind the curtain. We actually want to know when a student shows up with their mommy or daddy, because we do NOT want those students in a PhD program. Staff and faculty will be polite, smile, even ask them to pose for pictures, because we want to know who they are and do not want to let them through. I need to know that I can count on Johnny to get things done, assigned tasks, research, papers, etc, without needing parental supervision or help. No one except perhaps a teenaged prodigy ought to show up in a graduate school office with their parents. NO ONE. EVER. If you don’t want to brand your son a mama’s boy, and effectively blackball him from grad school, let him do it himself.