Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Mia ( )
Date: February 21, 2012 12:37AM

Is not what I have ever aspired to be. If I ever become that on this board I hope you will let me know. These are the type of people that drove me over the edge when I went to church.

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: bona dea ( )
Date: February 21, 2012 12:38AM

Agreed

Posted by: earthandspace ( )
Date: February 21, 2012 12:53AM

It's a fine balanace to hold Mia. Good luck, and I hope to be able to do the same.

Posted by: blueorchid ( )
Date: February 21, 2012 01:21AM

I cringe at being repetitive. Lacking in compassion is out of the question, it has to be there. But the third fear for me would be to be one dimensional.

When I was a young art student, at BYU no less, one of my professors told us once that one of the most important things you can do for yourself as an artist, is to cram as much visual information into your head as possible. He said to look at any and every magazine for starters, study faces, look in windows...
it will all be there to draw on. You will have an unending supply of visual images in your brain that can be dealt into millions of different combinations ready to spill onto a canvass.

It's a good approach to life as well. I have tried to experience so much. I want life "full palette"---every shade of every color available.

What strikes me most though,is that that way to live is also the opposite of the mormon church. That's why I like the word oppositional. It's not a negative to me. Because I am opposed to repetetiveness (see fast and testimony meeting), I am opposed to lack of compassion ( see many mormons do nice things just for show and only for their own members), and I am opposed to one dimensionality ( see restricted mormon thinking with almost everything of value or joy in this life forbidden).