Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: elciz ( )
Date: July 03, 2014 09:38AM

I had a conversation with my Bishop a month or so ago. He is a nice buy, and truly deluded. He is a juvenile justice system councilor by trade. So he is educated, educated in the workings of the human mind even.

He asked me what my "problems" were and I told him I was reluctant to discuss them because a "discussion" is not possible. Some people will believe regardless of the facts and figures, a small number will see the facts and figures and move on and out of Mormonism.

In other words, and I told him this, when discussing these subjects with a non-believer (previously TBM) and a TBM the two will talk past each other, not listening to each other. It's like one is Russian, speaks Russion only, and the other is Chinese, and speaks only Chinese. But then I thought about it and that analogy is actually flawed. The non-believer (previously TBM) actually DOES speak both languages. He/she has lived and believed the ideas of Mormonism but now, based on a review of available facts, does not believe anymore. So he/she is "bilingual". In my case, the Bishop only spoke and understood Russian. He didn't know anything about (or very little) Joseph Smith and his (at least) 34 wives and the other tawdry facts of those "marriages" (under-age, dual marriages, etc.).