Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: angsty ( )
Date: October 29, 2010 10:49PM

Warning: I'm really bitchy right now. This may or may not suit you.

I can't remember if I've ever ranted about this before, but since it came up again in my life recently, here goes...

I'm a decent amateur photographer-- have been since I got my first 35mm SLR at the age of 14. My dad had a photo lab in our basement during my younger years, and I spent a lot of time watching him and learning from his books. Courtesy of dad's instruction, I enjoyed old-school black & white, develop-it-yourself photography from a pretty young age. Currently, I've got some nice photography equipment (still getting used to Digital and my D7), I know a lot about it (for a lay-person) and I have taken some very nice photos. I'm particularly good at composing flattering portraits, and I'm great with natural lighting. Every photo isn't perfect, but I've got a good critical eye and I know when I've got it right.

I have people who know me ask me to photograph events and family portraits all the time. If it's a friend or family, I do it for free because I love taking photos. I'm always looking for interesting subjects and I love making people I love look fabulous.

Otherwise, I refer inquiries to peeps of mine who are "real" photographers-- as in qualified professionals. I know a few qualified professional photographers who are very supportive of my amateur efforts. They give me great advice on equipment as well as critical feedback on my shots.