Recovery Board  : RfM
Recovery from Mormonism (RfM) discussion forum. 
Go to Topic: PreviousNext
Go to: Forum ListMessage ListNew TopicSearchLog In
Posted by: Mrs.DoubtingThomas ( )
Date: September 01, 2013 12:00AM

A little background: I've been a doubter since a teen although I graduated from both LDS Seminary and Institute. In the past I have been embarrassed to say that I'm a Mormon. I haven't gone to church in six years. I happily married a non-member. We do have one young child who is of primary age. My extended family has more inactive- and non-members than church-going members.

I'm weighing the possible pros and cons of going back to church:
Pros include: 1. Getting to know more of my neighbors. 2. Being in the "know" socially. 3. Perhaps building up my piano studio with more students with a piano-playing calling. 4. Feeling attached to my Mormon identity.

Cons include: 1. Getting up early on Sunday. 2. Wearing dresses or skirts with pantyhose weekly. 3. Unwanted callings (and visiting teacher assignments). 4. Pressure to bring my child(ren) to church. 5. Possibly thinking that #4 is a good idea! (Even though at times, I do think about it.) 6. Feeling like a fake.

Which pros could be important enough to keep you going week after week?

Options: ReplyQuote
Posted by: squeebee ( )
Date: September 01, 2013 12:04AM

What level of pro do you expect to justify living a lie?

Posted by: Ragnar ( )
Date: September 01, 2013 12:52AM

Why would you want 'fake' friends who are either assigned to you (VTs, HTs) or are 'conditional' friends who are very judgmental of the way you live, dress, act, speak, etc.? To get to know more of your neighbors, throw a block party, or start inviting neighbors over for a barbeque (regardless of their religion or lack of it).